How Deep Is Your Love

Kyla revived Bee Gees’ hit song How Deep Is Your Love and is even included in her 8th album entitled ‘Private Affair’ released in late 2011, being the only revival song she’s made.

It’s very refreshing to the ears; if you have heard the original, you’d hear the big difference. Her version’s unique. Her raspy voice adds texture to the tone of the song, making it more audible to listen to. The melody, the interpretation, the musicality, the beautiful voice. What else? I guess, this is one of the most difficult songs I’ve ever sung. Even though I’m capable, the high falsettos she made mostly in the chorus part are a bit difficult to sing. Your diaphragm would need a regular exercise if you’d sing this. Then there’s a particular challenging line in the chorus that requires long breathing while singing it with the high falsetto, “Cause we’re living in a world of fools.” Honestly, that’s the part where I find it hard to sing the song. But overall, it’s a beautiful remake I will never get tired of listening and singing.

Hailed as the Philippines’ RnB Princess, of course, the melisma would never go out of her singing equation. In my own opinion, I’d really like (and love) the way she interpreted the song. She added a new flavor  that made it sound quite romantic. Every time I get to hear this in my playlist or wherever else, it immediately sets my mood and closes my world to outside forces. That’s how significant that song is in my life.

Believe it or not, it lulled me for over two months. It was the only song I had repeatedly played all-day long; probably the song that has caught me in spell. How OA?

You might also want to listen to Glee’s Lea Michele and late Cory Monteith’s version. Please spare a fraction of your time to listen.

**Directed by Nani Naguit. Video Courtesy of Nice Print Photography and Exige Weddings.

Anything you would like to add?